Five levels of communication

The 5 levels of communication are not something I can take credit for. With each subsequent level, there is the potential for more growth. More deepness, more intimacy. But, of course, the only way to be more intimate is to be more vulnerable.

Five levels of communication

Five Levels of communication: Why am I afraid to say who I am? Someone has aptly distinguished five levels of communication on which persons can relate to one another. Perhaps it will help our understanding of these levels to visualize a person locked inside of a prison. It is the human being, urged by an inner insistence to go out to others and yet afraid to do so.

Most of us make only a weak response to the invitation of encounter with others and our world because we feel uncomfortable exposing our nakedness as persons.

Five levels of communication

Inside our prison we may be lonely and fragmented by an almost desperate need for connecting with people outside but we are afraid to take the risk since we can be rejected. Some of us are only willing to pretend this exodus out of ourselves while others somehow find the courage to go all the way out to freedom.

There are various stages in between. The fifth level represents the least willingness to communicate ourselves to others. The successive descending levels indicate greater and greater success in the adventure.

This level represents the weakest response to the human dilemma and the lowest level of self-communication. How is your family? Everyone remains safely in the isolation of his pretense, sham, sophistication.

Reporting the facts about others. On this fourth level we do not step very far outside the prison of our loneliness into real communication because we expose almost nothing of ourselves. We remain contented to tell others what so-and-so has said or done.

We offer no personal, self-revelatory commentary on these facts, but simply report them. We may seek shelter in gossip items, conversation pieces, and a little narrations about others. We give nothing of ourselves and invite nothing from others.

My ideas and judgments. On this level, there is some communication of my person.

The Five Levels of Communication

I am willing to take this step out of my solitary confinement. I will take the risk of telling you some of my ideas and reveal some of my judgments and decisions. My communication usually remains under strict censorship, however.

As I communicate my ideas, etc. I will be watching you carefully. I want to test the temperature of the water before I leap in. I want to be sure that you will accept me with my ideas, judgments, and decisions.

If you raise your eyebrow or narrow your eyes, if you yawn or look at your watch, I will probably retreat to safer ground. I will try to say tings that you want me to say, try to be what pleases you.

Someday, perhaps, when I develop the courage and the intensity of desire to grow as a person, I will spill all of the contents of my mind and heart before you.

But still you can know only a little about my person, unless I am willing to advance to he next depth level of self-communication. Some may think that once we have revealed our ideas, judgments, and decisions, there is really not much more of our persons to share.

Actually, the things that most clearly differentiate and individuate me from othersthat make communication of my person a unique knowledge, are my feelings or emotions.Note: Age- and gender-adjusted rates of obesity, using the OECD standard population.

Definition of obesity based on the WHO BMI-for-age cut-offs. Communication between two people occurs on numerous levels simultaneously, each with its nuances There are five fundamental levels of communication verbal, physical, auditory, emotional, and energetic.

Here are the five levels of listening: Ignoring The lowest level of listening is called ignoring – not listening at all. If you are distracted by anything while talking to a .

Rumor: Sharing Application Information, Immigration Enforcement. FEMA will not proactively provide information gathered through these applications with ICE or CBP for immigration enforcement purposes; however, if a significant law enforcement interest exists (e.g.

a national security case) for an individual whose information is contained therein, FEMA may share information with our law.

Connecting stories to improve the mobility of people and goods. Visualization. Communication. Education. Hazard Communication Standard - The Occupational Safety & Health Administration mandate, 29 CFR , states that companies producing and using hazardous materials must provide employees with information and training on the proper handling and use of these materials.- The Occupational Safety & Health Administration mandate, 29 CFR

The Five Levels of Learning